## **Table 3.1 Membership of Technical and Scientific Advisory Bodies to CMS Family Bodies**

CMS	Scientific Council (Article VIII.2)  → each Party is entitled to appoint a member  (In addition, COP Resolution 1.4 states that the Council shall include qualified experts selected and appointed by the COP) {→ see Information Box 3.1}
Agreements	
ACAP	Advisory Committee (Article IX)  → each Party is entitled to appoint a member
AEWA	Technical Committee (Article VII)  → fifteen members, comprising:  - nine experts representing different regions of the Agreement Area (nominated by the Parties within the nine sub-regions and elected by the MOP)  - one expert each in rural economics, game management, and environmental law  - In addition to the Parties' experts: One representative each from the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN), the International Waterfowl and Wetlands Research Bureau (IWRB) and from the Council for Game and Wildlife Conservation (CIC)
ACCOBAMS	Scientific Committee (Article VII and Resolution 4.4)  → twelve members, comprising:  - One Chair  - Four Task managers, including a Vice-Chair  - Four regional representatives from the ACCOBAMS area  - One representative each from the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN), the European Cetacean Society (ECS), and the Scientific Committee of the International Whaling Commission (IWC)
ASCOBANS	Advisory Committee (Article 5.2)  → One member from each Party (each Committee member may be accompanied by advisers and the Committee may invite other experts to attend its meetings, Article 5.4) The Committee has both a technical and administrative advisory function
EUROBATS	Advisory Committee (Resolution on the Establishment of an Advisory Committee, Annex H of the MOP 1 report)  → One member from each Party (each member may be accompanied by advisors and the Committee may invite other experts to attend its meetings, para. 4 of the Resolution)
GORILLAS	Technical Committee (Article VI)  → One representative from each Range State  → One expert from each of the following fields: forest management and conservation, environmental law, wild animal health  → One representative from the Great Apes Survival Partnership (GRASP)
WADDEN SEA SEALS	Wadden Sea Board (Annexes 3 and 4, 2010 Governance Arrangements, Trilateral Wadden Sea Cooperation)  → thirteen members, comprising: - Four board members from each Party (Annex 3) - One Chair (nominated by the participating Government hosting the next Trilateral Governmental Council, Annex 4)
Some of the MOUs	
Dugongs	<b>Dugong Technical Group</b> see Report from the Second Official Signatory State Meeting, DM/SS.2/Report, 19-20 February 2013, paras 112-126, Agenda point 11.4 and the terms of reference contained in CMS/Dugong/SS2/Doc.11.4 Annex II)
Marine Turtles of the Atlantic Coast of Africa	Advisory Committee  → 10 members; each Signatory may appoint members: to be either seconded by at least two other Signatories or not including citizens from the nominating state (Para. 4)
Marine Turtles IOSEA	Advisory Committee  → Up to 10 members, nominated by Signatory States from countries other than their own.  (Terms of reference, paras 1 and 5)
Raptors	<b>Technical Advisory Group</b> See section 13,2 of the report of the Meeting of Signatories (Abu Dhabi, 9-11 December 2013) and CMS/Raptors/MoS1/Doc 13.2 Annex
Sharks	Advisory Committee  → 10 members: Africa: 2; Asia: 2; North America: 1; Europe: 2; Oceania: 1; South, Central America & the Caribbean: 2 (Section 7, paragraph 24)