Within a CMS Family instrument, functions are generally split among a number of bodies. These bodies can be broadly classified as (1) Secretariats or Coordinating Units (administrative); (2) decision-making bodies (COP/MOP/MOS) and the subsidiary bodies (usually called the Standing Committee) providing guidance between the meetings of decision-making bodies and (3) scientific and technical advice (e.g. Scientific Council).